LibGuides: Emergency Preparedness Information: Libraries and Museums: Disaster Planning

Planning for Libraries & Museums

Disaster Recovery
Syracuse University
dPlan® | ArtsReady® Pocket Response Resource
Free customizable template for a basic emergency plan. This page also includes information on dPlan|ArtsReady, a more robust emergency planning tool (subscription).
Fundamentals of AV Preservation
Online course designed to instruct on preserving AV materials. Includes a session on disaster recovery for these unique items.
Lyrasis Preservation Services
Includes disaster assistance info, preservation consulting services, vendor database, library disaster plan information, and much more.
NEDCC Preservation 101 - Emergency Preparedness
Free resource - linked chapter provides information to help before, during, and after a disaster.
NEDCC Preservation Leaflets
These leaflets cover preservation planning and execution as well as planning for emergencies that may threaten preserved collections.
NEDCC Season Resources
Listing of resources from NEDCC to help plan for before and after disasters like hurricanes, storms, fires, and floods.
Texas Historical Commission: Disaster Planning for Museusm
Resources to help museums plan for disasters. THC also offers individual consultations in all aspects of museum operations including disaster preparedness and recovery.
What to do if your library has a flood or water disaster

Louisiana Library Status Blog

Library Status Blog
The State Library has established this blog to provide a mechanism for Louisiana libraries to alert the public about their status during an emergency situation and/or to provide information for their staffs. Any Louisiana library administrator may post information; anyone may comment.

Moldy Books

Emergency Salvage of Moldy Books and Paper (Northeast Document Conservation Center):
https://www.nedcc.org/free-resources/preservation-leaflets/3.-emergency-management/3.8-emergency-salvage-of-moldy-books-and-paper

Connecting to Collections webinar on Mold:
https://www.connectingtocollections.org/moldrecording/
(Just click on the green "Access Session Recording" at the bottom of the page to listen to the webinar. You will be asked to enter in your name, organization, position, and email, and then the webinar will open.)

Grants and assistance

Before and After Disasters: Federal Funding for Cultural Institutions
A guide created by several federal agencies.
Beyond Words: the Dollar General School Library Relief Fund
The fund will provide grants to public schools whose school library program has been affected by a natural disaster. Grants are to replace or supplement books, media and/or library equipment in the school library setting. Administered by AASL, a division of ALA.
NEDCC Training Programs & Grant
Lists upcoming and on-demand programs from NEDCC (most paid, some free). Includes information on applying for grants to put towards these sessions.