English as a Second Language (ESL) / Foreign Language (EFL)
Tools for English language learners. Includes tabs to Basic Reads and Adult Literacy which have useful materials at the State Library for ESL/EFL learners.
This site offers a wide variety of resources for both English language teachers and learners. Students will find tools to improve grammar and vocabulary, as well as reading, writing and listening skills. Teachers will find lesson plans, teaching techniques and career information.
A project of The Internet TESL Journal, this site contains thousands of quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles. It also links to ESL podcasts and videos.
This website takes a highly engaging, multimedia approach to teaching English. Through features such as specially prepared news videos, with accompanying text; an ongoing, animated YouTube series called The Flatmates; and an audio series entitled Keep Your English up to date, BBC Learning English informs and entertains students while teaching them language skills. Although the English used is British, ESL learners and instructors everywhere will find this site of value.
This site features lessons based on current news stories. Lessons include the text of the story, along with reading, writing and listening exercises. Lessons and news stories in MP3 format can be downloaded.
Funded by the US Office of Vocational and Adult Education, the CAELA Network's mission is to provide high-quality professional development resources and information to ESL teachers, administrators, and others who work with adult ESL learners. Included are briefs and digests, an ESL resource database, a quarterly newsletter, publications for order, bibliographies and a calendar of upcoming CAELA events.
Created and maintained by Dave Sperling, an experienced ESL teacher, this comprehensive site offers teaching ideas and discussion forums for teachers, as well as grammatical and pronunciation help, quizzes and forums for students. The ESL Cafe also provides links to many other ESL web pages, including job sites.
Useful for both ESL students and teachers of English, this site provides free lesson plans, games, quizzes and links to the spoken language. It also includes information on grammar, pronunciation, vocabulary and business English. On-site registration allows access to the ESL Progress newsletter, ESL forums and chat rooms.
This site features ESL resources for students and teachers alike. Students will find activities, games, quizzes and readings on a variety of topics. Teachers will find lesson plans, handouts, worksheets and other helpful materials. ESL Partyland is also on Facebook and Twitter.
ESL students will find a rich variety of resources on this site, including quizzes, word games and puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, and computer-assisted activities. The site also features links to audio files and videos geared to English language learners.
Site contains over 300 jokes and riddles involving wordplay appropriate for all ages. Jokes can be viewed sequentially or by topic, and added to "basket" for printing out. "Learn English with Jokes and Riddles" also has presence on social media such as Facebook and Twitter. Site links to Learn English with Pictures and Audio.
Over 400 words accompanied by pictures and pronunciations. The site features several "Learn English" videos as well. Words included in the site are primarily frequently used nouns.
A list of over 10,000 links for ESL / EFL students and teachers. The student portion of the list includes links to bilingual pages, culture, dictionaries, games, videos and vocabulary. The teacher portion includes links to articles, conference information, journals, newsletters, and teaching techniques and ideas.
Each day Voice of America broadcasts a program with news and feature stories in simplified English. Some of the stories are read aloud on TV, with accompanying scrolling script. The English used has a core vocabulary of 1500 words. This site offers transcripts from the radio broadcasts, along with the corresponding audio files, as well as a link to the TV feed. VOA News: Special English is also on Twitter.
"Wordnik is based on the principle that people learn words best by seeing them in context. We've collected more than 4 billion words of text (web pages, books, magazines, newspapers, etc.) and have mined them exhaustively to show you example sentences for any word you're interested in." Wordnik also features a thesaurus and a Word of the Day.
In addition to text-based information in areas such as reading, grammar and vocabulary, many of the websites on this page also contain audiovisual material. This material will help with listening and speaking skills.
